13th Age: Unpromising Lands!

Posted: 2 February, 2016 in 13th Age, Role-Playing, System

I decided to treat myself this birthday to a new Role-Playing System something I rarely get to do over the past few years so I wondered off to my local Gaming Shop, The Two Fat Goblinz, and brought 13th Age by Pelgrane Press.

To be frank 13th Age did not look promising if anything yet another Dungeons and Dragons clone much like Pathfinder and I only really brought it as I wanted something new to read to inspire my role-playing creative side.

But on reading 13th Age I was very surprised indeed it was a clone of Dungeons and Dragons but a nice mixture of old Dungeons and Dragons with a modern free form twist which breaths life back into such Role-Playing rules and takes me back to the first days of when I started Role-Playing at University.

Buying 13th Age certainly fit the saying never judge a book by it’s cover and I would recommend it for those Role-Players who like the Dungeon and Dragon sort of games without the maze of rules which I have always thought slowed down Role-Playing games and certainly detracted from the story telling essence of Role-Playing.

The system is certainly for the more experience Dungeon Masters as it does expect a lot of work both before and during a game because of it free form nature but does solve issues of such games when the Player Characters insist of going off the plot. Helps that the system encourages the Player Characters to help to determine the direction of the story itself.

13th Age has got my Dungeon Master hat on again as I am starting to think of my own version of the 13th Age world and scenarios for a campaign of my own. It certainly pandas to my more free form style of Dungeon Mastering and tweaked my creative side.

Please Note: If you are interested in a more personal scrapbook of mine just follow the link to Patterns in the Static!.

Please Note: If you are interested in my home page just follow the link to Experiment No. 3.

Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.