Journal of a Lost Soul Part DXLIV

Posted: 11 April, 2016 in Journal, Life

It feels like the morning after a good day a bit of a let down but it also does not help it is a Monday morning with usual blues that comes with it as old habits die hard. Though today and tomorrow have a silver-lining as I am not working and it is rare nowadays I get two days off work in a row.

Yesterday was a good day in the end though the start could have been a bit better but I was stuck on the Tech Desk yet again at work something I really do not relish any more but the end of the day was so much better and a lot more successful than I expected.

I finally ran my first Role-Playing Game after 5 years of a break helped by the fact I have finally found a local Role-Playing group with reasonable number of players who are willing to try new and different Role-Playing games.

It all went better than I expected with all the Players enjoying themselves and getting into the spirit of the game which was a one off Traveller Scenario involving a Alien Hunt with a difference in so much the alien was a lot more powerful and technically killable, though they did find the way to kill it though they did not get a chance too.

The start of the game was a bit shaky as I was really nervous and rusty at the start but once I got into the flow of the game I remembered why I really liked running Role-Playing games as it is gives me lot of pleasure to see a story unfold especially when the players themselves create their own path through the story.

It was also gratifying the people of the group liked my more free form style of Game Mastering/Storytelling something I have always done for the last 5 years when I played and run Role-Playing Games. I tend to be someone who puts the story first rather than the rules and players before the scenario itself as I believe it makes a far more better game for the Players and myself.

So now I have finally proved to myself I can run a Role-Playing Game and I hope I have proved to the Players at the group I can run a Role-Playing game and I am not as I looked a lot of hot air. As always my depression makes things difficult inside my head as it can put real doubts in my head even if things have gone well.

So this is yet another step away from a life which had become very bland, frustrating and frankly boring. This year is still marching on towards better things for all of us here regardless of the distressing events around the world!

Please Note: If you are interested in a more personal scrapbook of mine just follow the link to Patterns in the Static!.

Please Note: If you are interested in my home page just follow the link to Experiment No. 3.

Leave a Reply

