Returning Back to the Devil’s Playground!

Posted: 10 October, 2015 in Computer, Facebook, World Wide Web

Most annoying thing I am going properly have to do all in effort to reconnect to friends I have lost and who have not moved to other social web sites I am going to have to return back to Facebook or the Devil’s Playground.

It feels like a real defeat but it may be the only way I can get back with friends who I am missing a lot currently and for my own health and sanity I need to reconnect myself to. Currently I am feeling very isolated from the world around me something which is really not doing me well.

But this time as a defence against the worse excesses of Facebook and it’s large majority of anti-social, bigoted and hate filled members this time my profile will be closed down totally so only people who are friends can only see my profile.

Strangely this defeats the whole point of being on social web site in the first place but in the case of Facebook it is the only way people, especially with depression, can cope with the more nastier side of Facebook. All this because Facebook continues to fail to deal with abuse, bullying and trolling on it’s social web site because it’s owners believe it is all part of the freedom of speech regardless of the fact it harms people.

Also this time the profile will carry the minimum information required to be viable with everything else being held elsewhere outside of Facebook in an attempt to thwart the data trawlers there. Though I suspect that closed profiles are never very popular on Facebook as they are viewed by many people and defeat their basic ethos of their so called social web site.

In the end as I said this feels so like a defeat for my principles but sometimes we have to swallow our pride to do something we need to do, in my case reconnect to lost friends.

Please Note: If you are interested in a more personal scrapbook of mine just follow the link to Patterns in the Static!.

Please Note: If you are interested in my home page just follow the link to Experiment No. 3.

Please Note: If you are interested in my small social network just follow the link to Bubbles in the Quantum Static.

Comments
  1. PrettyFlower says:

    Oh I hear you, I am so not a fan of Facebook. I have a rl personal profile that is very private, no public posts, ONLY loooong time friends and family, and the only reason I keep it is to see pictures of nieces, nephews, and babies growing up, and to keep in touch with family who provide no other way to do so.

    Prettyflower is debating getting a fb page to help promote her blog posts and stuff, but thus far has resisted the devil’s playground. Twitter and Flickr are enough for now I think. But so many I know are on FB, and I can’t deny it would possibly be beneficial. Unless some sort of income were derived from my SL blogging and photo taking, I don’t think it will be worth it.

    But I understand your motivation. If it were not for wanting to be in touch with my family, I would probably get rid of my private FB account.

Leave a Reply

