Saddened the Way We Define Ourselves!

Posted: 30 May, 2015 in Comment, Life, Society

What has always saddened me about society, especially Western society, is the way we define ourselves to others. That is we define ourselves by our current job which I do know is a historical reasons.

This has never set well with me because it implies what we do as a job within society is more important than who we actually are. I’ve never liked this definition as my current job certainly does not define who I am but something I do to earn money.

It also puts far too much emphasis within our lives and society on our jobs and not the rest of our lives where usually we express ourselves in our hobbies, interests and the such. Those thing which actually define who and what we are rather something we do to make money so we can afford to live in a human created, rather natural, society.

This emphasis on jobs has always skewed our view of society and people which surround us and makes jobs too important to be a point people forget the rest of their lives. This has in my opinion been a very unhealthy situation for people to be in as they too focused on work rather than living their lives to the full.

Myself I now define myself not my job but by terms we define me more that is I am idealist, dreamer and individualist which define me more accurately.

Please Note: If you are interested in a more personal scrapbook of mine just follow the link to Patterns in the Static!.

Please Note: If you are interested in my home page just follow the link to Experiment No. 3.

Leave a Reply

