Depression: The Robber Who Takes the Person Inside!

Posted: 24 September, 2014 in Comment, depression, Life

I went to a therapy session yesterday to do with my depression and it’s cure which got me thinking of the effect the depression has had on me!

In so much it has robbed me of my personal opinions including political and social opinions as at the height of my depression I would state an opinion but could not back it up with consistent argument or allowed people to talk me out of my opinions. This has occurred since my 20s so for a large majority of my life I have had no real personal, social or political views of my own basically I was not a real person as I lacked something everyone else has.

This has only become very apparent this time I am fighting my depression which finally got me thinking about things including politics and society in general and finally start to form opinions of my own and to back them up with consistent argument and strength of character to be true to the opinions.

This is revaluation personally as I start to feel I am real whole person its highlights just how the depression had robbed me of the person inside me. It does feel that the depression had robbed me of myself but now I am coming out of my depression it is finally nice to start to become the person I want to be not the person the depression wanted me to become.

Strangely I am not resentful about the fact the depression had robbed me of my life but I am more thankful that coming out of my depression I am becoming the person I always wanted to be even if it is some 30 years later than most people!

Please Note: If you are interested in a more personal scrapbook of mine just follow the link to Patterns in the Static!.

Please Note: If you are interested in my home page just follow the link to Experiment No. 3.

Please Note: If you are interested in my small social network just follow the link to On the Other Side!.

Comments
  1. It’s true depression is a thief, and it keeps on taking, it was similar for me I had opinions a voice and it robbed me of that.

    I’ve got my voice back, not as strong as before but getting there, it takes time and work and a lot of giving up, but eventually you will come full circle.

  2. True, it is a long journey back though this is the first time I have really found my voice and the such but I am enjoying it and finding it very intellectually stimulating. 🙂

Leave a Reply

