The Effect of the Environment on My Depression!

Posted: 3 February, 2014 in Comment, depression, Life

Since we moved house the one thing I have noticed is the effect it is has on my depression in so much I have not needed to take my anti-depressives to keep my moods stable and myself falling into a series of downs caused by crisis after crisis in our lives here.

But what it has shown myself the effect of the environment has on my depression rather than the series of crisis we all face in our lives. In my case the environment around me has a great effect on my depression.

Though I should not be surprised by this as in my old house we lived under the constant gaze of my family who constantly minded our business added to which I could never settle there as it was never going to be my permanent home in the end. All this compounded by the fact because it was in a village you needed a car to work and live so there was always a sense of isolation and being trapped. All of this fed my depression and made it worse than it needed to be.

All this has changed in the new house as we live in the middle of town so we can walk into town easily and in my case even walking to work so the sense of isolation and trapped has gone. On top of this other than paying rent to my parents we are finally free of my family watching our business so we can finally live our lives away from the prying eyes of my family. The upshot of which a lot of the problems with my depression now have gone though it still manifests itself but in far more mild downs which now last hours rather than days.

So for the first time in a long time my depression does not rule my life so I can finally start to live my life again!


Please Note: If you are interested in a more personal journal of mine just follow the link to Acta Spiritu Amisso.

Leave a Reply

