Height of Irony in the Clouds!

Posted: 23 November, 2013 in Comment, Computer, Open Source

I find this the height of irony as at work I sell Cloud products and get cloud products for free but I have just set up a small personal cloud for absolutely for nothing with the only limit on space being the size of the hard drive it is based upon.

I have used owncloud a piece of Open Source software which was easy to set up even it’s client on other computers and all you need on the server is Apache2 server running PHP also in my case port forwarding and dynamic dns on the router.

As I have said before the sheer wealth and quality of Open Source software never ceases to amaze me and in the recent decades has come on in leap and bounds something the more mainstream software writes have failed to do who now produce over priced software which a lot of the time fails to be real value of money.

Once again Open Source has allowed me to do something I could not of done decades ago and it is making my whole experience of computing a fun and productive place for myself and others again!


Please Note: If you are interested in a more personal journal of mine just follow the link to Acta Spiritu Amisso.

Leave a Reply

