Dogs are a Good Tonic

Posted: 14 September, 2013 in Comment, depression, Dogs, Life

For those of us who suffer a form of a constant depression owning and looking after dogs is a wonderful tonic due to the fact they give love and loyalty back regardless of how we feel or even when we growl at them when really do not feel like company.

They lighten a world for us when all around us seem dark because of our depression. Most of all they add a much needed companionship which is not judgemental and a focus in a life which seams unfocused because of the depression.

Here our dogs help myself and my partner’s depression by just being here even when they annoy us at times.

Comments
  1. floridaborne says:

    I’m fairly upbeat most of the time. But when I’m feeling blue, there’s always a doggie to nudge at me as if to say, “Is there something I can do to make you happy again?” That’s all it takes to brighten my day.

  2. I can completely agree with this. Whenever I am down and blue, which is more often that I would like, I find a dog on the street, being walked by its owner and approach them and ask for some puppy kisses. Works every time! I still cry over my dog, who passed away eight years ago. Now I’m bring her back to life by writing a novel in which she is The Patron Saint of Dogs’ partner-in-crime. Even in fiction, dogs are tonic for the soul.🙂

Leave a Reply

