Journal of a Lost Soul Part CCXIX

Posted: 4 August, 2012 in Journal, Life

A mixed week for myself of both success and annoyances which sort put a damper on the week’s successes. As usual the problems at work continue now worse than ever to the point of standing arguments all week at work which are starting make me think that I really want to work with these people any more. All this because some people are simply lazy, arrogant and think they are more important than they actually are.

But the rest of the week outside of work has been very successful and fulfilling as finally I got the computer power supply from my brother so I could finally upgrade my Linux PC. I may not of needed to fix the CPU or memory on the motherboard but the rest of the PC I built myself which is the first time I’ve done such a thing.

Once again I have proved to myself that I can still learn new skills even at an age most people would write me off thinking I am too old and set in my ways to learn nothing new. But unlike the large majority of most people I am not arrogant to think I never have to learn again once I am adult but know I will be always learning until the day I die. At least I still get warm and satisfying feeling from learning something new something these people do not get because of their arrogance.

I tried Zorin OS first on the new Linux PC and I was very surprised just how easy it was to install and the speed it worked on the new PC but only thing it did not give me was a customizable desktop. If anything Zorin OS is excellent Linux for those who want to move from Windows to Linux without a great change in the desktop itself. All I can say if Linuxs like Zorin OS make inroads into domestic PC market Microsoft windows would be in trouble as it is far more stable and faster!

In the end I went back to Crunchbang Linux, an Openbox distribution, as I can set up the desktop how I want it and it is very clean in so much I can only install the packages I need without cluttering up the PC with unwanted crap. So now I have the fun this week of setting up the desktop and loading the software I require onto the Linux PC.

Please Note: If want to view my Second Life Journal then go to the Journal of a Spectral Traveller.

Please Note: If want to view a Second Life Wikipedia then go to the Encyclopedia Umbra Machina.

Leave a Reply

